The Specialized Information Service (FID)

The Specialized Information Service (FID) Middle East-, North Africa- and Islamic Studies provides highly specialized research materials from the countries of the MENA region for German researchers. It is funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG) and has been maintained by the University and State Library Saxony-Anhalt since 2016.

Acquisitions

We acquire literature from the countries of the Near East and North Africa that is difficult to access mainly in the original language and make this highly specialised sources permanently available.

This is done on the one hand traditionally via the interlibrary loan of the ULB Saxony-Anhalt for printed materials. However, increasingly, we deliver documents digitally as Open Access or as licenses for the scientific FID community.

The Virtual Library MENALIB provides central access to our holdings, offers and services.

Range of Subjects

The FID Middle East-, North Africa- and Islamic Studies sees itself as a partner for a number of smaller, philologically, religiously and regionally oriented disciplines that belong to the Oriental Studies. These include

  • Islamic Studies
  • Islamic Theology
  • Oriental Christianity
  • Arabic Studies
  • Semitic Studies
  • Iranian Studies
  • Turcology
  • Armenology
  • Caucasian Studies

Regional Orientation

Map of the MENA region

Regionally, our collection covers the following countries:

Egypt, Ethiopia, Afghanistan, Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Djibouti, Eritrea, Georgia, Iraq, Iran, Yemen, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Qatar, Kyrgyzstan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Malta, Algeria, Yemen, Morocco, Mauritania, Oman, Palestine, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan (Republic of Sudan), Syria, Tajikistan, Turkey, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, United Arab Emirates, West Sahara, Palestine

Orientation of Content

In terms of content, our focus is on the areas of religious studies, history, political and social sciences as well as linguistics and literature in the above-mentioned regions.

Community

In order to align our service to the needs of research, the FID team is in close contact with the scientific community, regularly organizes road shows, and is in contact with experts via social media.

Der Fachinformationsdienst

Der Fachinformationsdienst (FID) Nahost-, Nordafrika- und Islamstudien versorgt die deutsche Wissenschaft mit hochspezialisierten Forschungsmaterialien aus den Ländern der MENA-Region. Er wird seit 2016 von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) gefördert und von der Universitäts- und Landesbibliothek Sachsen-Anhalt betreut.

Erwerbungen

Wir erwerben schwer zugängliche Veröffentlichungen aus den Ländern und überwiegend in den Sprachen der MENA-Region und stellen dieses hochspezialisierte Quellenmaterial dauerhaft zur Verfügung.

Dies geschieht einerseits traditionell über den Fernleihservice der ULB Sachsen-Anhalt bei gedruckten Materialien und in zunehmendem Maße auch in digitaler Form als Open Access oder als Lizenzangebot für die FID-Fachcommunity.

Die Virtuelle Fachbibliothek MENALIB bildet einen zentralen Zugang zu unseren Beständen, Angeboten und Serviceleistungen.

Fächerspektrum

Der FID Nahost-, Nordafrika- und Islamstudien versteht sich als Ansprechpartner für eine Reihe kleinerer, philologisch, religions- sowie regionalwissenschaftlich ausgerichteter Disziplinen, die zum Fächerspektrum der Orientalistik gehören. Hierzu zählen die

  • Islamwissenschaft (bekenntnisneutral)
  • Islamische Theologie (bekenntnisorientiert)
  • Wissenschaft vom Christlichen Orient
  • Arabistik
  • Semitistik
  • Iranistik
  • Turkologie
  • Armenologie
  • Kaukasiologie

Regionale Ausrichtung

Karte der MENA-RegionRegional umfasst unser Sammelauftrag die folgenden Länder:

Ägypten, Äthiopien, Afghanistan, Algerien, Armenien, Aserbaidschan, Bahrein, Dschibuti, Eritrea, Georgien, Irak, Iran, Jemen, Jordanien, Kasachstan, Katar, Kirgisien, Kuwait, Libanon, Libyen, Malta, Marokko, Mauretanien, Oman, Palästina, Saudi-Arabien, Somalia, Sudan (Republik Sudan), Syrien, Tadschikistan, Türkei, Tunesien, Turkmenistan, Usbekistan, Vereinigte Arabische Emirate, West Sahara

Inhaltliche Ausrichtung

Inhaltlich liegen die Schwerpunkte unserer Angebote insbesondere auf den Bereichen Religionswissenschaft, Geschichte, Politik- und Sozialwissenschaften sowie Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft der oben erwähnten Regionen.

Community

Um unseren Service am Bedarf der Forschung auszurichten, pflegt das FID-Team enge Kontakte zur Fachcommunity, führt regelmäßig Roadshows durch und steht über Social Media mit Fachwissenschaftlerinnen und Fachwissenschaftlern in Kontakt.