Al-Ahram (الأهرام)

Digital Archive of the Egyptian Newspaper

Al-Ahram Header The archive contains all available issues of the important and influential newspaper from Egypt from 1875 – 2018.

To the archiv

Modes of access

Our Specialized Information Services has arranged a test period for our circle of users until mid-November. In case of positive feedback, we would consider a permanent license.

About the Archive

Content

Al-Ahram (الأهرام, “The Pyramids”) has been published since 1875, making it one of the longest appearing newspapers in the Middle East. It has long been regarded as Egypt’s most influential newspaper. With a circulation of over 1 million copies Al-Ahram is one of the most important newspapers in the Arab world.

Before 1960 the newspaper was an independent publication and was known for its objectivity and independence. After nationalisation by President Nasser in 1960, Al-Ahram became the de facto voice of the Egyptian government. Today the newspaper is administered by the Supreme Press Council.

Text recognition

The full text of the archive was obtained by digital character recognition (OCR). Arabic is a difficult language in this process. The editions from 1980 onwards were available as printed sources and therefore have a higher recognition rate. Earlier editions are based on microfilms and may therefore be less accurate.

PDF-Download

Attention: Unfortunately the provider made bad experiences in several countries with mass or automated downloads during the test phase. Therefore the PDF download has been deactivated. If the database is licensed, this restriction will not exist.

Modes of Access

Access is available to members of the institutions of our circle of users from mid-September 2020 to mid-November 2020. Authentication is based on the IP numbers of the respective network.

A VPN or other remote connection is required when working in the home office. If you are not allowed to enter your facility due to the current situation and access via remote connection is not possible – log in as a single user! We offer you a quick and uncomplicated login.

Al-Ahram (الأهرام)

Digitales Archiv der ägyptischen Zeitung

Al-Ahram Header Das Archiv umfasst alle verfügbaren Ausgaben der wichtigen und einflussreichen Zeitung aus Ägypten von 1875 – 2018.

Zum Archiv

Zugangshinweise

Unser Fachinformationsdienst hat eine zweimonatige Testphase des finalen Produktes für unseren Nutzerkreis vereinbart.

Über das Archiv

Inhalt

Al-Ahram (الأهرام‎, „Die Pyramiden”) erscheint seit 1875 und ist damit eine der am längsten erscheinenden Zeitungen im Nahen Osten. Sie gilt seit langem als Ägyptens einflussreichste Zeitung. Mit einer Auflage von über 1 Million Exemplaren ist Al-Ahram eine der wichtigsten Zeitungen in der arabischen Welt.

Vor 1960 war die Zeitung eine unabhängige Publikation und war für ihre Objektivität und Unabhängigkeit bekannt. Nach der Verstaatlichung durch Präsident Nasser im Jahr 1960 wurde Al-Ahram de facto zur Stimme der ägyptischen Regierung. Heute wird die Zeitung vom obersten Presserat verwaltet.

Schrifterkennung

Der Volltext des Archivs wurde durch digitale Schrifterkennung (OCR) gewonnen. Arabisch ist eine schwierige Sprache in diesem Verfahren. Die Ausgaben ab 1980 lagen als gedruckte Quellen vor und weisen dadurch eine höhere Erkennungsrate auf. Frühere Ausgaben basieren auf Mikrofilmen und können dadurch ungenauer sein.

PDF-Download

Achtung: Leider hat der Anbieter in mehreren Ländern schlechte Erfahrungen mit massenhaften oder automatisierten Downloads während der Testphase gemacht. Deshalb wurde der PDF-Download leider deaktiviert. Bei einer Lizensierung der Datenbank wird diese Beschränkung nicht bestehen.

Zugangshinweise

Der Zugang wird Angehörigen der Institutionen unseres Nutzerkreises vom Mitte September bis Mitte November zur Verfügung stehen. Die Authentifizierung erfolgt durch die IP-Nummern des jeweiligen Netzwerkes.

Bei der Arbeit im Home Office wird eine VPN- oder andere Remote-Verbindung benötigt. Sollte Ihnen der Zutritt zu Ihrer Einrichtung durch die aktuelle Lage verwehrt bleiben und kein Zugang per Remote-Verbindung möglich sein – melden Sie sich als Einzelnutzer an! Wir bieten Ihnen schnell und unbürokratisch ein Login.