Al Manhal Islamic Studies E-Book Collection

The Collection

Logo Al Manhal (text right)The Islamic Studies Collection by the Arabic provider Al Manhal includes 2,035 e-books. They are about Islamic law, Islamic studies and Islamic theology and mainly written in Arabic.

A large part of the collection was published in print between 2004 and 2016. However, they are barely available in Germany. The collection reflects the current discourse of Islamic and theological questions in the Arabic world.

The Special Information Service Middle East, North African, and Islamic Studies intends to record the 2,035 titles in the catalogues (OPAC) of the eligible universities. Until then, we recommend taking a look at the list of titles to find out which works are included in the package.

Access

The circle of users includes selected universities, libraries and research institutions focusing on the topics of the Middle East. As a member of one of these institutions, you get direct access without a special login.

If you are accessing from outside of your campus, you should inquire for further options (eg via virtual private network).

Test here if you can access the collection directly.

Individuals who are not a member of one of the selected institutions can contact the FID team. Because scientists with residence in Germany and relevant research interests are also entitled to access.

Help with the use of the platform:

The platform of Al Manhal offers numerous tools for research. Some are only available after registration but not essential.

  • “Browse” → “By Subject” offers you a multi-level thematic subdivision of the collection.
  • All titles are available as full text.
  • Full-text search in Arabic is possible via a virtual keyboard.
  • The download or printing of a title is limited to 40% per session.

You can also find information on use in the manual of the platform.

Al Manhal Islamic Studies E-Book Collection

Die Sammlung

Logo Al Manhal (Text rechts)Die Islamic Studies Collection des arabischen Anbieters Al Manhal umfasst 2035 E-Books überwiegend in arabischer Sprache zu den Themen islamische Theologie, islamisches Recht und islamische Geschichte.

Ein großer Teil der Sammlung ist bereits im Zeitraum zwischen 2004-2016 im Print erschienen aber nur zu geringen Teilen in Deutschland verfügbar. Die Sammlung spiegelt den aktuellen Diskurs über islamisch theologische Fragen in der arabischen Welt wider.

Der FID Nahost-, Nordafrika- und Islamstudien beabsichtigt die 2035 Titel in den OPACs der zugriffsberechtigten Universitäten einzuspielen. Bis dahin empfehlen wir einen Blick auf die Titelliste zu werfen, um zu erfahren, welche Werke in dem Paket enthalten sind.

Zugang

Der Nutzerkreis umfasst ausgewählte Hochschulen, Bibliotheken und Forschungseinrichtungen mit nahostwissenschaftlichen Schwerpunkten. Als Angehöriger einer dieser Einrichtungen erhalten Sie einen direkten Zugriff ohne spezielles Login.

Falls Ihr Rechner sich nicht im Campusbereich Ihrer Heimatinstitution befindet, sollten Sie sich vor Ort nach weiteren Möglichkeiten des Zugangs erkundigen (z.B. VPN).

Testen Sie hier, ob Sie direkt auf die Sammlung zugreifen können (außer SBB).

Nutzer der Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin sollten den folgenden Link nutzen:
Nutzer der SBB können hier den Zugriff auf die Sammlung testen.

Einzelpersonen, die nicht zu dem speziellen Nutzerkreis gehören, können sich an das FID-Team wenden. Zugangsberechtigt sind Wissenschaftler und Wissenschaftlerinnen mit Wohnsitz in Deutschland und einschlägigem Forschungsinteresse.

Hilfe bei der Nutzung der Plattform:

Die Plattform von Al Manhal bietet zahlreiche Werkzeuge zur Recherche. Einige sind nur nach Anmeldung nutzbar aber nicht unbedingt erforderlich.

  • Unter „Browse“ → „By Subject“ finden Sie eine mehrstufige thematische Untergliederung der Sammlung.
  • Alle Titel liegen als Volltext vor.
  • Volltextsuche in Arabisch ist über eine virtuelle Tastatur möglich.
  • Der Download oder Druck eines Titels ist pro Sitzung auf 40% beschränkt.

Weitere Hinweise zur Nutzung finden Sie auch in dem Manual der Plattform.