Afghan Serials Collection

Rare Newspapers and Journals from Afghanistan

The Afghan Serials Collection is anessential collection of partisan serials from the Wahdat Library, the most comprehensive private collection of rare newspapers and journals from Afghanistan. As a national licence, it is freely accessible at German institutes throughout Germany and abroad.

To the Database

Collection includes over 45 titles published from the early 1970s to the late 1990s – a critical period for the history of Afghanistan.

Cover: Akhbar-i Haftah, No. 12, March 21, 1990, Kabul, Afghanistan

Cover: Akhbar-i Haftah, No. 12, March 21, 1990, Kabul, Afghanistan

Documenting the breadth of Afghanistan’s political epochs, the Afghan Serials Collection covers the use of the press by many groups that sought to shape Afghanistan’s social and intellectual landscape during this turbulent time. Various ideologies are represented in these publications, published by opposing factions from the Taliban to anti-Taliban groups, to anti-Soviet jihadi and mujaheddin groups to the People’s Democratic Party of Afghanistan.

The Afghan Serials Collection showcases unique press materials from a key era that shaped not only Afghanistan and the Middle East, but the entire world. Featuring content not assembled elsewhere, the collection is a chronicle of the rich and dynamic Afghan press and an essential resource for scholars and area experts. The texts where published in Persian, Pushto, Arabic, Urdu, or English.

Access Information

Members of a university can usually use an existing institutional registration. This procedure allows German universities, research institutions and academic libraries easy access without a special login. If your computer is not located in the campus area of your home institution, you should ask for further access options (e.g. local login via VPN).

Researchers without access via a home institution can register for private access if they have their permanent residence in Germany. After registration you will receive your personal access data by post.

Afghan Serials Collection

Seltene Zeitungen und Zeitschriften aus Afghanistan

Die Afghan Serials Collection ist eine Sammlung seltener Zeitungen und Zeitschriften unterschiedlicher politischer Gruppierung aus der Wahdat Library, einer umfassenden Privatsammlung aus Afghanistan. Das Angebot ist deutschlandweit und an deutschen Auslandsinstituten über das System der Nationallizenzen kostenfrei zugänglich.

Zur Datenbank

Zugangshinweise

Die Sammlung umfasst über 45 Titel, die von den frühen 1970er Jahren bis in den späten 1990ern Jahre erschienen sind, in einer kritischen Phase für die Geschichte des Landes.

Afghan Serials Collection TitelseitenDie Afghan Serials Collection enthält Presseberichte aus verschiedenen politischen Epochen und von unterschiedlichsten Gruppen und Strömungen, die zu dieser turbulenten Zeit die soziale und intellektuelle Landschaft zu gestalten suchten. Sie reichen von den Taliban über antitalibanische Rebellen, antisowjetische Dschihadi- und Mudschaheddin-Gruppen bis hin zur Demokratischen Volkspartei Afghanistans.

Die Datenbank beinhaltet einzigartige Pressematerialien aus einer entscheidenden Ära, die nicht nur Afghanistan und den Nahen Osten prägte, sondern die ganze Welt. Mit Inhalten, die nirgendwo sonst gesammelt wurden, ist die Sammlung ein Zeugnis der vielfältigen und lebendigen afghanischen Presse und eine wichtige Quelle für Wissenschaftler und Forscher der Region. Die Texte wurden in Persisch, Puschtu, Arabisch, Urdu oder Englisch veröffentlicht.

Zugangshinweise

Angehörige einer Universität können in der Regel eine vorhandene institutionelle Anmeldung nutzen. Dieses Verfahren ermöglicht an deutschen Hochschulen, Forschungseinrichtungen und wissenschaftlichen Bibliotheken einen einfachen Zugriff ohne spezielles Login. Falls Ihr Rechner sich nicht im Campusbereich Ihrer Heimatinstitution befindet, sollten Sie sich vor Ort nach weiteren Möglichkeiten des Zugangs erkundigen (z. B. lokales Login per VPN).

Damit der Zugang freigeschaltet wird, müssen Institutionen die Nationallizenz in deren Portfolio aufnehmen. Testen Sie hier ob das bei Ihnen bereits der Fall ist. Falls Sie lediglich zu einer Login-Seite gelangen, sollten Sie Ihre zuständige Bibliothek um die Freischaltung der Sammlung bitten.

Interessierte ohne Zugriffsmöglichkeit über eine Heimatinstitution können sich für einen privaten Zugang registrieren, sofern sie ihren ständigen Wohnsitz in Deutschland haben. Nach erfolgter Registrierung erhalten Sie zeitnah per Post Ihre persönlichen Zugangsdaten.